Posted on

How much is too much?

I guess the answer comes with the adage, how much can you do?

Today, I managed my best day of exercise for the year.  I roped myself into a research test for a friend, which simply involves running 3km one day while listening to music, and running 3km a different day, around the same route, without listening to music.  HR is taken at the end as well.  So I got up late today, after not sleeping at all well last night, and had to bust my butt cycling into uni, into a strong headwind, without any toast or anything.  As soon as I got in, I changed quickly, and then went to do my first 3km “test”.  Nothing hard, just jog 3k which we know I can do by now! haha  I did it without music, but felt the wind at the start really made me work as I ran up the slight hill.  Anyway, it was a two lap run, and I really didn’t feel like I was trying hard….an RPE of maybe 14, which is high level of easy.  And the only reason it felt that high was because of the wind.  Imagine my shock when I finished, and my HR was 172!  I put it down to being late up and not eating, as well as rushing to get in.  Anyway, I went about my day, went to a new class (Prosthetics and Orthotics, which looks interesting, but might take up a bit too much time for my liking) before sitting down and starting to collate my Research Dissertation.

I left uni with a friend at just after 6pm, and the wind was predominantly behind us, which was lovely!  I ended up recording some pretty decent times on my Strave route, moving me right up the leaderboards….that was a nice bonus.

I then picked up my bike tool kit that I lent to a friend round the corner, before coming in, changing, and heading around my 3mile loop.  21minutes.  For my 4th exercise of the day, I was hap-hap-happy.  I do feel a little tired just now, hence about to head to bed, and it’s only just turning 9pm.  But sleep is necessary for the body to recover adequately, and I didn’t sleep well last night.

Tomorrow I have more of the same…cycle to uni, research 3km “test” this time with music, cycle home, and hopefully another 3mile in the evening.  I also have another new class to attend, and also go look at a possible venue for our Uni Dept Graduation Dinner/Dance.  Busy day, along with my dissertation collation, so I will be up sharp to head in for some initial work.

Exercise rules! As Does Sleep!! 😀 x

About athleteagogo

I'm just me...serial moaner, and someone who can have serious insecurity issues in life, and also in my athletic career. Looking to regain fitness, and maybe have one more crack at running some fast times over distances from 5km up to marathons....maybe longer.

Leave a Reply

